Home Madagascar Heathrow and Gatwick: Relaxed travel advice for 32 countries, including Madagascar, Malaysia...

Heathrow and Gatwick: Relaxed travel advice for 32 countries, including Madagascar, Malaysia and Fiji


Travel advice will be relaxed for 32 countries, including Madagascar, Malaysia and Fiji.

The government has announced that it will stop advising Britons to avoid non-essential travel to countries not on the red list solely because of the pandemic.

The move is once again opening up the world to the British and making it easier for people to get travel insurance.

READ MORE: The full redlist and which countries could be removed in the next travel update

The Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office (FCDO) will no longer advise against travel to countries not on the Red List due to covid, except in exceptional circumstances such as if the local health system is overwhelmed.

A travel advisory could still be in place for these countries, but that would be for a reason other than the pandemic, such as political instability.

Travel insurance companies often exclude countries with travel advice against visits, so this decision will help travelers obtain insurance more easily.

Red List countries will always have a warning against all but essential travel.

The change will take effect in the next few days.

A statement from the FCDO explained that the decision was made “in light of improved public health in many countries and territories, a better understanding of the virus and the decreased risk for UK nationals at the following the deployment of the vaccine “.

The awesome new newsletter from MyLondon The 12 is packed with news, views, features and opinions from all over the city.

Each day we will send you a free email around noon with 12 stories to keep you entertained, informed and uplifted. It’s the perfect read for lunch.

The MyLondon team tells London stories to Londoners. Our 45 journalists cover all the news you need – from town hall to your local streets.

Never miss a moment by signing up for The 12 newsletter here.

Travel rules were already relaxed significantly on Monday, October 4 to replace the traffic light system with a single redlist and reduce testing requirements for the double jabbed.

Further relaxation of travel rules is expected tomorrow, when experts hope the number of countries on the red list will be reduced.

The full list of countries for which FCDO has relaxed its travel advice is: Algeria; Armenia; Bangladesh; Belarus; Benign; Comoros; Tokelau and Niue; Djibouti; Equatorial Guinea; Fiji; Gambia; Guinea; Kazakhstan; Kiribati; Kosovo; Liberia; Madagascar; Malaysia; Marshall Islands; Micronesia; Nauru; Sao Tome and Principe ; Senegal; The Solomon Islands; Go; Tonga; Tuvalu; Vanuatu; Congolese; America Samoa; French Polynesia; and Ghanaian.

Want stories like this delivered straight to your inbox? Subscribe to our FREE newsletters here .

Source link